Opening of Zizzi Belfast

Was very thrilled to be invited to the opening of Zizzi Belfast. Zizzi started in U.K. in 1999 and Belfast store is no 144. I’ve eaten in Zizzi before so knew what to expect. Must admit I was blown away with the quality and set up. 

On entry there was Prosecco with or without different flavours. At the bar there was beer and cider and then cocktails. The restaurant is over 100 covers and the centre piece has to be the yellow pizza oven!!

We had starters as we mingled- the sour dough balls were the best!! There was beef arancini, beef meat balls, chicken skewers and anchovies on offer.

The CEO Steve gave a welcoming speech before the pizzas came out-they looked and tasted superb. I really think and feel Zizzi is what Belfast wants and needs-so go on check it out!!! There is free pizza for 500 from 12 noon Friday 8th Oct. 

Congrats to the YesChef Award winners 2017!!

YesChef Awards Results 2017Best Newcomer Regional Finalists

Eala Bhán Connacht

Pickle Leinster 

Bull & Ram Ulster

Kieran’s Kitchen Munster
Best Seafood Restaurant Regional Finalists

The Talbot Seafood Bar Connacht

La Cote Leinster

O’Connor’s Munster

Pier 59 Ulster
Best Casual Dining Regional Finalists

Flannery’s Bistro Connacht

Pimento Leinster

Kieran’s Kitchen Munster

Bull & Ram Ulster
Best Gastro Pub Regional Finalists

Paddy Coynes Connacht

Stoop Your Head Leinster

Nick’s Seafood & Gastro Bar Munster

The Rusty Nail Ulster
Best Front of House Regional Finalists

George V at Ashford Castle Connacht

Angelina’s Leinster

Nick’s Seafood & Gastro Bar Munster

James St South Ulster
Best Restaurant Regional Finalists

Sage Connacht

Wild & Native Leinster

Nick’s Seafood & Gastro Bar Munster

The Rusty Nail Ulster
Best Chef Regional Finalists

Marcin Szczodrowski Eala Bhan Connacht

Barry Liscombe Harte of Kildare Leinster

Michael Thomas Waterford Castle Munster

Neven Maguire Macnean House Ulster
Best Hotel Restaurant Regional Finalists

George V at Ashford Castle Connacht

Powerscourt Hotel Leinster

Hayfield Manor Munster

Corick House Ulster
Best Fine Dining Regional Finalists

Geogre V at Ashford Castle Connacht

L’Ecrivain Leinster

1826 Adare Munster

Holohan’s at the Barge Ulster
Best World Food Finalists

Kappa Ya Galway

Pimento Carlow

Solo Kitchen + Bar 

Best World Food Winner

Solo Kitchen + Bar Belfast
Best Castle Dinning Finalists

Waterford Castle Waterford

Kilronan Castle Roscommon

Lough Rynn Castle Leitrim

Clontarf Castle Dublin

Ashford Castle Mayo

Best Castle Dining Winner

Kilronan Castle
YesChef Readers’ Award

Judge Roy Beans
Best Country House Dining Finalists

Corick House Tyrone

Ghan House Carlingford

Castle Durrow Laois

The Red Door Donegal

St Kyrans Cavan

Best Country House Winner

Corick House


Best Golf Club Dining Finalists

Dungannon Golf Club

County Louth Golf Club

Collinview at Ballyclare Golf Club

La Vue @ Cairndhu Golf Club

19 @ Lucan Golf Club

Best Golf Club Dining Winner

County Louth Golf Club
Best Italian Restaurant Finalists

Ambrosia Belfast

Via Veneto Enniscorthy

Venice Galway

Best Italian Restaurant Winner

Venice Restaurant Galway
Best Indian Finalists

Kashmir Galway

Pickle Dublin

Peppers Waterford

Chandpur Donegal

Eastern Tandoori Loughrea

Veda Dublin

Best Indian Winner

Pickle Dublin
Best Street Food Winner

Dina Dina Belfast
Best Skills & Innovations Winner

Paul Cunningham

Brunel’s Newcastle Co Down 
Best Irish Culinary Experience

Kate Lawlor

No 5 Fenn’s Quay Co Cork
Yes Chef’s Rising Star

Marcin Szczodrowski Eala Bhán Sligo
Best Newcomer Winner

Eala Bhán Sligo
Best Casual Dining Winner

Bull & Ram Ballynahinch
Best Gastro Pub Winner

Nick’s Seafood & Gastro Bar Killorglin
Best Front of House Winner

George V Ashford Castle
Best Restaurant Winner

Sage Westport
Best Seafood Restaurant Winner

La Cote Wexford
Best Hotel Restaurant Winner

George V Ashford Castle
Best Fine Dining Winner

L’Ecrivan Dublin
Best Young Chef Finalists

Ciara Loughlin Wildes at the Lodge

Andrew Reddan Co Louth Golf Club

Aisling O’Kelly Limerrick Strand Hotel

Marcella Furey The Rusty Nail

Best Young Chef Winner

Ciara Loughlin Wildes at the Lodge
Best Chef Ireland

Michael Thomas Waterford Castle